Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 07 24 Hey Everyone! July 24, 2017

Hey everyone.

Ya, it’s been a while since my last post, and man how the time flies, that is if you’re doing something that you enjoy doing. grin

I came down with a nasty cuss of a virus on this desktop machine a couple weeks ago, and after my son reformatted the hard drive and loaded Windows 7 onto the machine, I had to go through about seven or so Microsoft technicians before I was able to get back up to Windows 10 Creators. I have never talked about the Microsoft Accessibility Help Desk, which is available for blind and visually impaired computer users, like me. They have helped me out a few times these past couple years, and I am forever grateful for the generosity of Microsoft for this free service.

Anyway, I hate viruses, and hate the fact that I’m stupid enough sometimes to grab hold of them and drag them into my system.

After getting back to Windows 10, I have spent the last week trying to get my computer back to where it was, with programs that I frequently use installed. The task is demanding, and grueling at times, but I have always enjoyed these kinds of things. Not the virus, but the restructuring of the essentials. I did lose quite a few files because of the characteristics of the virus, which locked up my machine completely. I had backed up quite a bit of stuff, but hadn’t done that in a month or two.

I know, right? Duh!

So, here I am, back in cyberspace, making another attempt to rearrange some zeroes and ones along the way.

I hope you all are in the middle of a fantastic summer, and hopefully I’ll get back into some regular posts in a little bit. Thank God I didn’t lose much of my writings, but my multimedia files took a nasty hit.

Take it easy, and enjoy your day.
Oh ya, thanks a million to my son, Matt. Once again, you bailed me out, and I really appreciate it.

We’ll talk atcha later on.
dp

 

2 Responses to “2017 07 24 Hey Everyone!”

  1. Welcome back to the cyber world, Deon.
    It is not so much fun when you lose things. A couple years back, I lost so much when my computer was infected.I, stupidly, bought an expensive “service” from the IT people who are in India – and are hackers. OMG, they filled my computer with bad stuff, and then, of course, they got paid well for “fixing” everything – they had imbedded so much garbage in my computer it was unreal.

    No more!

    I’ll be getting a new computer and screen in August – I’ll be getting a new CCTV called a DaVinci, which is absolutely amazing. And, I am getting an I-Pad and a NFB reader. I am not sure what else. My tech expert has done a great job of building a case for me since I do so much writing and get published so much as well as doing the books – she really went to bat for me to get updated and new equipment and software programs. Nice to have her on my side.
    Lynda


Leave a comment