Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 06 06: Journal Excerpt Page 20 June 6, 2017

Through my life I have driven many miles. I figured it out a few times in my head, and it comes out to roughly 2 and a half million miles.

I should get a smiley sticker for that, right?

Many of those miles involved going to family destinations, Buffalo, Michigan, New Hampshire, Down East, Charlotte, and each and every time, as I was driving towards family, I felt like I was heading home. That warm, indescribable feeling grabbed hold of me and guided me home.

Family has a very strong impact on our lives. When my son came to Newton Mass to pick me up and take me home, I had never felt more like I was going home than these times.

They say that home is where the heart is.

I can’t ever begin to argue with that.

Deon

***

Page 20

The weekend before my Center graduation I was not expecting to be able to get home. It had been a couple weeks since I had been back to Clinton, and I could tell Lynne was getting restless for me to come back.

Matt called me on skype on the night before that last weekend at the Carrol Center, and asked me if I would like a surprise trip home. He wanted to surprise his mom. I was all for it. Boy was I ever. I knew she was having a hard time at home and I wanted to get back to Maine as soon as possible.

Well that Friday he came to get me after classes let out at lunch. I was all jittery all the way home and I was excited to be able to surprise her. The ride seemed to fly by faster than it had ever before.

We drove in the yard at home and I got out of the car and walked up to the garage. Matt walked up onto the cellar bulkhead and Lynne heard the bulkhead squeak and groan. She came out the front porch door and started hollering at him to see if he was ok. She saw me and thought it was him. She started to shout over to me, thinking I was him, and then she all of a sudden realized it was me.

She let out a scream and came running over to me barefoot, crying and hollering and crying. She grabbed hold of my coat collar and pulled it tight to her as she gave me the most wonderful hug I have ever felt. I started hugging her and crying myself. It was one of the best feelings I have ever had. I wanted it to last forever. I was just so happy to be home and in her arms. It was wonderful. I could say it over and over again. It was wonderful. It was really really wonderful. Wicked wonderful even.

That weekend was one of the best I had had in a while. It seemed really good to be home. It also seemed good to have Lynne so excited to have me there. I had felt so inadequate around the house since July, and it really felt like she wanted me home. I felt like I was finally home. I think I’ve wore out the word, “home”.

Well we had to do some scraping to come up with enough cash for Matt to get me back to Newton. We did manage to scrape up enough, and Sunday afternoon we headed back. The ride back to the campus seemed to fly by, as I was playing over and over the scenarios in my head from that weekend. I knew that I would be returning home after that next week, and I was glad. I had had enough of the Carroll Center, and wanted to get on with my life once again. Little did I realize though how much of a role the center had in getting me ready for that

To be continued…

 

One Response to “2017 06 06: Journal Excerpt Page 20”

  1. Deon, if you make these journal entries into a book, you should include the story you sent our writers’ group about how you built the toy truck for your grandson in your manual arts class. Some of the other stories you sent us about your mobility lessons would add a nice touch.


Leave a Reply

