Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 04 25 Poetry: Birthday Cake April 25, 2017

April 25 is here at last!

Are you kidding me? Here at last? What the heck happened to the first 24? Did they go by way too fast? Did I write about this already? Repetition, right? Grin

It’s sort of strange knowing that I have been living out here on the ridge for 31 years. It’s even stranger that this house has been here since 1904, which makes it, um, let’s see, carry the two, bring it over and, ok. Man, this house is old!

Well, here it is, time for another poem submission for National Poetry Month. I hope I ain’t boring ya, and I hope you like the following poem, cuz it’s all I got for today.

Anyway, repetition is the main ingredient of life, so take it, and then, take it again.

I hope you have a good Tuesday night, and have fun with it.

Deon

***

Birthday Cake

Sitting here staring at a birthday cake.
A little boy’s smile staring back at me.
A thousand dreams make their way around the room.
Make a wish and you just might see.

A wind up car flies across the floor.
Laughter heard coming from a room upstairs.
Trim your hair for a Friday night dance.
Caring too much about what everybody wears.

Little boy went and grew up too fast.
Echoes still whirl around his bedroom walls.
I can still hear him dash through the house.
I see his smile every time he calls.

I sit here again and I stare at a cake.
It’s not too different from one back awhile,
Except for one unique difference.
It’s my little boy’s little boy that gives me a smile.

Dedicated to my son Matt, and grandson Jack.

Sent from my wicked younger than me Windows 10 Machine.

 

4 Responses to “2017 04 25 Poetry: Birthday Cake”

  1. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–Well, if today really is your birthday, I send you grand birthday wishes!

    Five more poems to go! Best wishes–Alice and Willow

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Alice. No, it wasn’t my birthday. But I celebrate the day none the less with images of those smiling faces from two of the strongest men I know. grin
      dp

  2. Walter and Dorothy Woitasek Says:

    Hi deon. I wonder about birthday cakes. I have seen and eaten them, either angel food or devil’s food. Do you think that might be significant? walter

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Hi Walter. Birthday cakes are some of my favorite foods. My favorite cake is a chocolate mayonnaise cake my wife makes, with peanut butter frosting. I also like whoopie pies made from the same recipe.
      As you can probably tell, I’m a chocolate loving hound dog. grin
      Be well.
      dp


Leave a Reply

