Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 04 07 Poetry, 22 Years April 15, 2017

Hi Again.

Time has a way of changing things. The clothes we wear, the foods we eat, the songs we sing, the life that we live, all of it has a habit of changing, and sometimes without our being aware.

22 years times 2 I was but a teenager, trying to figure out where my adulthood might take me. Never in my wildest dreams did I ever, well, never in my wildest.

22 years ago a trendificational change grabbed hold of my life, and 22 years later, the change has never let go. It’s been a good change, a strong change, a change of direction, of pace, of likes and dislikes, and through 22 years, it has caused tremendous change in me, around me, and in spite of me.

On this 5th day of April I am reminded of how things used to be before those 22 years. I’m mesmerized by a memory or two that have led to today, 22 years later.

I hope you all had a great day, and as a poet from Maine once reminded me, no matter where you go, there you are, so why not go grab yourself part of it.

Deon

***

22 Years

22 years ago, a world suddenly changed.
A window whispered hello.
A window opened a door to yet another window.
A beckoning call rang through a home.

22 years ago a mouse became a friend.
A desktop gathered an icon or two.
A single tower began to teach.
A cursor swept across a square screen.

22 years ago, a window of amazement grew.
A personality fell for a hard drive.
A list of hobbies could only stand aside, and watch.
A question slowly turned into curiosity.

22 years later a mouse sits quiet, and sighs.
The colored windows now swim with the sharks.
The sounds of the keys sing a different song.
The monitor light galliantly flickered, and then slowly faded away.

22 years the window looks out across a different field.
The window glows with a different light.
The window gathers in a different sound.
The window opens a brand new door.

22 Years.

 

Leave a Reply

