Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 04 05 National Poetry Month: Invisible World April 5, 2017

The fourth of the fourth. Has sort of a nice ring to it, wouldn’t you say?

As a lot of you know, being blind can easily turn into a state of mind. Some days we’re the windshield, and some days, well, we ain’t. When I reach out for an object, a door knob, a glass of water, and my hand ends up exactly where I intend for it to be, man that’s a good feeling.

And then there’s those times when everything seems to be two inches to the right of where it’s supposed to be.

I used to write a lot about losing vision, but it seemed as though there were those periods of time when that was all that I wrote about, and the repetition really seemed to gnaw at my core, for as my writings tend to lean towards the opinion that being blind was, is the last thing on this earth that I want to be, or do, or exist with.

And then, I write some more.

This poem digs deep into the fabric of a mind gone blind, a mind looking for a place to be, a mind looking to find a way to see without the light of vision.

And enough with the rhetoric from the ridge.

I hope you all had a great Tuesday, and thanks for allowing me to explore the possibilities that writing affords me.

Be well and keep on writing.

Dp

***

***.Invisible World

Gathering strength of mind.
Hoping the footsteps will keep in time.
The future cleverly hides in the shadows.
Fading glimpse of independence threatens to be only what used to be.

Obscured visions slow the footsteps to a crawl.
An invisible canvas searches for a colorless world.
Artistic voices paint their faces from within.
A character is revealed.

Lightless days quickly become the past.
A new chapter searches for a title.
The student’s cane sweeps across an invisible world.
Begin to learn, to teach, to live.

 

4 Responses to “2017 04 05 National Poetry Month: Invisible World”

  1. Walter and Dorothy Woitasek Says:

    Thanks deon for this poem. Keep up the special words of meaning and possibilities. walter

  2. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–I think this poem is one of your “Top Ten.” Even the comments leading to “invisible World” were especially thought-provoking. Thanks for being such a good ambassador for individuals who are blind via your poetry.

    Happy April! Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Thanks Alice. I’m still trying to figure out where this one came from. I can’t imagine something like this swirling around in my head, but then again. grin

      Sent from my wicked smart Windows 10 machine

  3. Deon, i had to read this many, many times to get into your world of being blind. Over the many years since you lost your vision it has still not become something that i have been able to truly accept for you. I pray so much for you and your inner strength to live this new life that is your reality. As i talk to you and read your poetry and blogs i know my prayers for you have been answered. Bless you my special one……CJL


Leave a Reply

