Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2017 04 02 Nat Poetry Month, Questions April 2, 2017

Yes, it’s April 2nd, and from what they tell me, spring is still in the air. I agree that it’s probably in the air, but the ground here on the ridge still looks like winter’s icy fingers will be here for another week or three.

As spring is finally waking up, I’m reminded of the different seasons. I’m also reminded that life is reminiscent of those seasons. The birth, the growth, the learning, changing, adapting and everything about it brings it all around to those days when we say good bye to those we love.

This poem reminds me that sometimes, life moves too quickly. Before we know it, those things we love are gently pried from our grasp. It’s something we all go through, and it’s something we all could stand to do without, but then again, such is life.

This poem is dedicated to my father, and all those I have loved, and lost.

Life goes on, and on, and on.
Have a great day, and Happy April 2nd to you all.
dp

Questions

Slow down you guys.
Where are you going so fast?
Why did you need to leave so soon?
Is your work here finished?

I’m not sure if you know this or not,
But even though you’re not here, your inspiration lingered behind,
Your friends will always be just that,
And you will be missed.

Will we ever see you again?
Will I ever see you again?
Even though you’re not here, can you hear me when I talk?
Can you see my searching eyes?

There’s so much about you that I’ll always love.
That I’ll always miss.
That I’ll always admire,
That I’ll never forget.

Can you see the countless faces of the past?
Can you feel the love from those you were born to cherish?
Can you see the face of God?
Can you feel the touch from all the lives before?

Fear not, for you will always be brave.
Worry not, for you will always know.
Be quiet no more, for we will always listen.
Love forever, and you shall always be loved.

One and all, we will miss you all.

 

Leave a Reply

