Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 10 16 October Morn October 16, 2016

Is this really October the 16th? Is summer but a fleeting memory of warmer smiles? Was that a flock of Canada geese I heard fly overhead the other day? Did I really have to scrape the windshield yesterday morning?

Holy crap! It’s autumn!

It’s been a while since my last entry, and I apologize for that. I have been busy with school, and when I tell you that this semester has been one challenge after another, well, please believe me. I also ask you to believe me when I say that with each challenge, there have been hidden treasures of opportunity that I have found, worked through and learned from. A kaleidoscope of higher learning, higher education, higher, um, stuff that I have managed to gather and collect and carefully place along the shelf of life. My life. Don’t ask, because I’m not giving any of it away. I might be persuaded to lend you some, but I will be wanting it back.

Should we expect the return of something that we pay forward? I think not, but don’t let that stop you from keeping on paying it forward. Things come to us unannounced and cleverly disguised, so don’t ever think that if you keep on paying it forward, you’re holding bin will run empty, because it won’t, it doesn’t and it never will.

Man am I getting swayed by brainwaves.

Here I am, there you are, and here we go. My son and grandson are coming over today. We’re heading to the coast, to Belfast, our favorite place in the world, or at least Maine. There’s a little hole in the wall Chinese take out place that we love to visit. My taste buds are frolicking with my mind already just thinking about it.

I went to the white cane and guide dog walk in Augusta yesterday. Bill Green was there from the famed Channel 6 show, and overall, the day was filled with smiles and laughter and canes and paws. My sixth event in as many years, and I’m already looking forward to year 7. I’d like to thank Debbie’s mom, Kay, who assisted me around the two block walk. I’d gladly follow you anywhere kiddo, and thank you very much for the wonderful conversation on a beautiful October morning.

Well, that’s about it. I’ll try to check in more frequently, but we’ll see what happens.

I thank you all again for stopping by, and I also hope the rest of October brings you tons of wonderful autumn memories that will keep you warm through the winter months.

Take care, and God bless the lot of ya’s.

dp

 

6 Responses to “2016 10 16 October Morn”

  1. Hi Deon. Nice to hear from you this morning. I surely understand the treasures you are finding amid the challenges. This of it this way: There is always a monster at the center of the labyrinth. The monsters, in each ancient story, are always guardians of the creative treasures. the important thing to do it stick with it, follow that scarlet thread to the center, defeat the monstor, and come out with the treasures awaiting you. Your semester is nearly finished, so just stay focused and walk on. I am cheering you on. Lynda

  2. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–How nice to receive a blog post from you in my e-mail today! I hope that your trip to the coast was quite special and especially delicious. Also, I was glad to hear of your celebrating White Cane Safety Day.

    Hoping that the remainder of the semester goes smoothly and enjoyably for you–Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Morning Alice, and thanks.

      The semester has been a learning experience and a half, but we are making headway. Yesterday was a wonderful day spent with family, and the coast always brings a wonderful memory or two.

      Have a great week, and a special treat for Lady Willow.
      dp

  3. PJ Lumb Says:

    A touch of Autumn, another beach/coast family trip, memories of Chinese food, and the annual White Cane walk…another year gone by, already? Your blog was like a letter from a friend. Thanks, Deon, for writing from your heart.


Leave a Reply

