Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 05 22 A Dear Friend May 22, 2016

I lost a dear friend the other day. This friend I had known since 1986, and their presence in my life grew larger and larger with each passing year. This friend reached out to the world as they opened up their arms to greet each morning with a wide eyed yawn reminiscent of a young, inquisitive child. An innocent learner of the seasons who never asked for anything, yet never stopped giving.

 

Oh how I admired this friend over the years. Oh how I thanked them for always being there, no matter what came their way. Oh how I learned to love them just as they were, and how over the years I saw how others saw in them those same qualities that caused me to stand and stare up at them, as their inspiration continued to flood my world.

 

Since 1986, the old maple tree in front of our home has sheltered us from the cold, storming winds out of the west. The old maple tree hugged our home and warmed our spirits with a constant blanket of security. The old maple tree gave us shade against the blistering hands of the summer sun and gathered the songs of the birds with each new day’s dawn.

 

The strong limbs of our dear friend grew brittle as the years passed, but still, our old maple tree continued to stand strong and proud as it watched over the Battleridge.

 

The other morning, I walked up to where our old friend stood for so many years, and as I knelt down and reached out, I couldn’t believe she was gone. The emptiness I felt was similar to those same feelings I had when our barn came down. A hole in my heart that just didn’t make any sense.

 

We tend to grow fond of certain things in our lives. We love without knowing, and as the days continue to pass, we hang on to the memories with a passion that we can rarely explain.

 

For thirty years the majestic maple burst with life every spring. Her unfolding leaves sang to life as the wind whistled down from the mountains, and as I knelt there on our front lawn, I could hear her whispering good bye.

 

There’s an empty place in my soul.

There’s a void that I can’t explain.

There’s a calling that I hear along the wind.

There’s a friend that I will forever be grateful for.

 

As I sit here and write, I am being flooded with emotions. I shake my head and wonder why, I mean, over a tree? Really?

 

Yes, over a tree. A rock solid, tall, proud, beautiful   maple tree if you please, and yes, a dear friend indeed.

 

9 Responses to “2016 05 22 A Dear Friend”

  1. Dee Says:

    I know where you are coming from
    Cuz. A few years back we were hit
    with a microburst here in Southern
    Maine, which took down our apple
    tree and our huge Willow………
    It was a huge disappointment
    as I watched from my window both
    trees being destroyed all in a few
    seconds. We were heartbroken
    to say the least!
    Both these trees were important
    to us, and now they were gone….
    Dee xxx

  2. Dee Says:

    This is one of my many favorite poems…..
    Dee xxx

    TREES

    by: Joyce Kilmer (1886-1918)

    THINK that I shall never see
    A poem lovely as a tree.

    A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
    Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

    A tree that looks at God all day,
    And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

    A tree that may in Summer wear
    A nest of robins in her hair;

    Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
    Who intimately lives with rain.

    Poems are made by fools like me,
    But only God can make a tree.

  3. carollyons Says:

    WHY NOT A TREE? I ONCE WATCHED A BEAUTIFUL APPLE TREE BE HACKED DOWN ACROSS THE STREET FROM MY KITCHEN WINDOW TO MAKE MORE ROOM FOR A HAY FIELD….NOT ONLY COULD I NOW NOT WATCH THE APPLE BLOMMOMS GROW BUT I NEVER WOULD SEE THE ROBINS BUILD THEIR NESTS AND RAISE THEIR YOUNG. YES GGOD MAKES THE TREES BUT MAN TAKES THEM DOWN TO MAKE MANY MORE THINGS. AND SO LIFE GOES….CJL

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Yes life surely does continue to move along. Our neighbor hauled the tree off and will use it for his home. Thanks and hugs to ya Michigan. grin

  4. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–Thanks for sharing your beloved maple tree with us. I can certainly understand your sentiments. My maternal grandfather, who built in 1914 the home in which I grew up, planted maples around the house. In the early 1990s, the maples were no longer safe to be so close to our house. After the trees were felled, my dad, with the help of his two grandsons while on a visit from Colorado, planted red maples. The huge trees I had climbed, swang from, and picknicked beneath were gone; however, we looked forward to the growth of the red maples. I hope that your grandson will help you plant a new tree and new memories.

    Take care–Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Alice. The whispers of the wood will always be of good company. Planting a tree with my grandson Jack sounds like the makings of a great day. Thank you so much for the idea, and thanks also for your words. dp

  5. Paula Lumb Says:

    A life shared is a life enriched. We are all connected. How wonderful that you got that, respected and appreciated your coexistence, and now grieve your loss. When I next visit it will be a huge gap to behold. My heart goes out to you all. Blessings and thanks to the life of service that your Maple fulfilled!


Leave a Reply

