Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 22 Poetry: New Loafers April 22, 2016

When I think back to that September morning, 51 years ago, there’s different things that stick out in my mind. The crisp September morning, the electric feeling rushing up and down through me, the feeling that I was beginning to belong to something so amazing and new, the nervous emotions that were tugging me one way, then the other, it was all just so perfect, and it was my first day of school.

Although I was nervous as a cat in a rocking chair factory, I knew everything would be ok, because I had my brother and sisters going with me, and my best friend Kevin. It really couldn’t get more perfect than that, right?

Do you remember back to that first day of school? Is there something that sticks out to you that has hung on to your memories all through the years?

When I saw that bus coming around the corner, I knew that all that waiting had been worth it, because, this was it.

My first day of school.

Today marks the 22nd of April, and this just happens to be the 22nd poem I have submitted for National Poetry Month.

I thank you for pulling up a chair, and I hope you have a great night.

Take care and be well.

dp

***

New Loafers
A poem by DP Lyons

I’m waiting for the bus this morning.
This is my first day of kindergarten.
They have really huge crayons there that are flat on one side.
I’m wicked nervous.
It feels like there’s frogs jumping around in my stomach.
My hair is cut wicked short,
My loafers are brand new,
And my new black pants have a crease in them.
This kid standing beside me is Kevin.
He’s my best friend, and he lives right over there.
Today’s his first day of school too.
I’m taller than he is, but he runs a little faster than me.
We play pass with the football out in the field a lot.
That’s my two older sisters and my big brother over there.
Mom said they’ll look out for me today.
I think I’ll be ok, because I’m big now, like them.
I’ve been waiting for this day for a long, long time.
Kevin’s two older brothers are coming with us to school too.
So is our other friend standing over there.
His name is Buddy.
I don’t know why, but we all call him Woody.
Kevin’s hair is really short, just like mine.
I wonder if he went to the same hair cut place as me.
I bet he did.
I wonder if his shoes are new.
His pants have a crease, just like mine do.
I think I see the bus coming up the hill.
Yup, that’s the bus.
It’s gonna pick all of us up.
Boy that bus looks really, really big.
Did I tell you this is my first day of school?

 

6 Responses to “2016 04 22 Poetry: New Loafers”

  1. Rolfe A. Frost Says:

    I don’t remember the 1’st day,but I do remember a lot of things in the 1’st year .Things like walking to and from with the girl around the corner.,stopping at the candy store,and a lot of fun just testing limits of our freedom. these are things that kids are not allowed to do now,with good reason. It’s a whole different world that we live in. It’s a scary world,and a damn shame,but it’s what our world has become,and I don’t think there was any avoiding it. Thank you for the look back at a lot of memories. Mostly good. It would be so nice to have it all back.

  2. You have written a nice reflection on an event that is momentous in a child’s life. It brought back my own memories, which are nothing like yours. 22 poems on day 22 – going well for you Mr. Wicked Hair, and now you can proceed to the next poem in the series. You may even move to the FRONT of the class now. Professor Lambert.

    • DP Lyons Says:

      My mom told me that this would come in handy, so here you go, a nice shiny apple, just for you. grin
      Can I sit beside my best friend Kevin, please?

  3. Will Says:

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve read this put up and if
    I may I want to suggest you some interesting issues or suggestions.

    Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article.

    I desire to read more issues about it!

    • DP Lyons Says:

      I am glad you liked this post, and thank you for your interest. I agree that a lot of my posts have to do with the darker side of vision loss, but I also would like to point out that a lot of those particular posts I try to end on an up tick, a positive ending. Surviving deals with the entire spectrum, and believe me when I say that I have spun around the entire spectrum. This school post, well, it was a very positive day in my life. A fresh beginning to a new chapter of my life. Thanks Will. dp


Leave a Reply

