Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 19 Poetry: Document, Document April 19, 2016

And a happy April the 19th to ya. So glad you could stop by.

This is National Poetry Month, and this will be my 19th poem for submission in my 30days, 30 poems quest. Some things I write, it’s like a battle of sorts. Words lining up to take their place along the battlefield of word. Sometimes the battle is short lived, and other times, the battle lives on long after the piece of writing is complete. Perhaps that’s the problem. I think the piece is complete, but it really isn’t?

Hmm.

Pondering once again, and this isn’t the first time. Grin

I love to go back and read what I have written. I love trying to figure out what to write. I absolutely love it when I don’t have to do any thinking at all. Believe me when I tell you that happens more than I care to admit.

Anyway, the following poem took a little while to write, and I still don’t feel like it’s done. Maybe it is, and maybe it’s nowhere near done. Who knows.

I hope your week is off to a good start, although we’re nearly half way done.

That’s it. I’m outta words. So sad, but so true.

At times like these, I feel it’s best to say thanks, and take care.

dp

***

Document, Document
A Poem by DP Lyons

Document, document, take me away
Riddle the countless minds with unshackled phrase
Capture the imagination of those binders unleashed
Weather the gale winds of tempest tales, lost forever to the sea

Tangent script from a paralleled world
Hail to the soldiers, brave with battled cry
Raise your tempered steel towards the darkened foe
Ne’er stray far from a warrior’s true quest

Heightened crest of a vengeful wake
Plot your course towards those chapters unrehearsed
Mark the salted deck with a furied quill
Harbor those souls born from parenthetical phrase

Document, document, carry me home
Carve your name along the walls of the wind
Savor the story, unknown but for today
Mentor the innocence to those who share in the journey

 

Leave a Reply

