Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 09 Poetry: How Would You April 9, 2016

April 9th and another day is winding down.

This is my 9th poem submitted for National Poetry Month, and although I wrote this one quick, it is a poem none the less, and have at it with your critique and comments, because I think it deserves it.

I wrote it quick, and I was tired when I started, so I make no excuses.

Life is like that, right? No excuse is an excuse most of the time, so we might as well just keep trying to do our best and accept the results.

Although I don’t usually have a really good excuse, often times I scour my brain trying to come up with one that works, but most times I end up thinking and feeling that I should, could and mustn’t try to waste my time, and the time of others as I wrack my brain for that perfect tale of woe that will lessen the burden of personal responsibility.

And so goes the moral fabric of the timeless art of avoiding blame.

Live the life, learn the lessons, feel the burn and grow from the inside out. It’s really worth it in the long run.

And away we go!

Poem number nine is on the way, and don’t say I didn’t warn ya.

Thanks for everything, and own it when its yours.

Take care and be well.

dp

***

How Would You
A poem by DP Lyons

What did you say when you knelt down to pray?
Where did you turn when you needed to learn?
How did you feel when you found out its real?
Where did you go when the answer was no?

Which one stood out when you started to doubt?
Who did you ask when you veered from the task?
Why did you fear from the one so sincere?
Why would you blame those you never could name?

How would you know if you don’t watch the show?
Why would you care if you can’t stand to bare?
Which would you choose if you started to lose?
Why did you run when you weren’t even done?

Where did you, how did you, when did you, why did you, which did you, who did you
Love?

 

3 Responses to “2016 04 09 Poetry: How Would You”

  1. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–Please do not sell your poetry short. “How Would You,” your poem #9 for National Poetry Month, is a mighty fine endeavor. I am impressed with the inner rhyme that each line so well displays. The two final lines strike a perfect end note for your poem. The only line I would even slightly think of revising is the “care” line. All other lines sparkle to reflect the poetic royalty of this special month. Thanks for brightening the month of April with your daily poems–Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Thanks Lisa. Very much appreciate your kind note. Have a great Saturday night and an even better tomorrow. dp

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Thanks Alice. After reading down through the piece, I can see where that line you mentioned feels a little awkward compared to the rest. Thanks for the suggestion, and thanks once again for the critique. You have helped me so much with my writing that words will never measure up to the level of my gratitude.
      PIR 4Ever. dp


Leave a Reply

