Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 08 Poetry: Little Boy April 8, 2016

It’s Friday, April 8, and look at you! If I didn’t know any better, I’d say that you look like you made it through another week. Is that right? Did you get done what you needed to this week? Did you wind up behind where you finished last week? Are you scratching your head wondering where this post is going? Me too.

I had a pretty good week. Got some school work done, didn’t trip and fall once, didn’t lose my slippers, didn’t run out of chocolate, and won first place in a writing contest with a writer’s group I belong to, that is, I shared first place with an amazing writer from Wisconsin. She has taught me more than she’ll probably ever know, and through it all, I got the chance to work with an incredibly talented writer. Actually, I get the chance to work with some amazing writers all the time, and with the added inspiration I receive, well, how can a billy goat go wrong?

This is April the 8th, and below is my 8th poem for the National Poetry Month. It’s a poem about a special man I know who seems to grow closer to me ever year. This is one of my favorite poems, and I hope you like it. I also hope you keep coming back, and I wish to thank you for stopping by my blog.

Have a great evening, and an even better weekend.

Now, it’s on with the poetic show!

dp

***

Little Boy
A poem by DP Lyons

For the first time, I held you in my arms
A weightless handful of endless joy
My little boy was born
I gazed into your eyes, and saw your future
You gazed into mine and stole my heart
Unbelievable
I never thought it would happen to me
I never imagined it would happen to me
I couldn’t believe it had happened to me
A little boy was born
A father was born
A lifetime of learning was born
You have taught me more than I have taught you
Your lessons were unrehearsed
My learning was unexpected
Our relationship was unimaginable
Kindred spirits born from love
The minutes and hours went by too fast
The days, months and years went by too fast
You took your first step
I took my first breath
From one foot six, to six foot one
My little boy had grown
Your eyes are still the same
Your smile is still the same
The man that stands before me
Is still my little boy
On the day you first held your son
My grandson
The experience started anew
I watched you gaze into his eyes
And my heart melted
Once again

 

5 Responses to “2016 04 08 Poetry: Little Boy”

  1. Rolfe A. Frost Says:

    that was great! A lot of us feel the same,but don’t know how to put it into words. I’m so pleased to know someone who has that talent. Thank you.

  2. carolyn.bebee@gmail.com Says:

    Well, you are right on track with your poems and as you can see I ha e slipped off the rails. Deon, this is beautiful. Just beautiful. We don’t have kids of our own. Nieces and nephews are ours. So grateful to and for them. The twins, little girl and boy, now almost 11, Tommy named after my Dad and Sophia Carolyn. We cried when Kim called from the hospital with there names. I can only imagine the joy of holding a little one created from your love. Then a grandson too. Miracles. With the kids now. Blessings and your poem for this day another special one at a very special time. Thanks, Deon! Carolyn

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. carol jean lyons Says:

    Very special. Emotions we all feel at the birth of our children. Gifts from G0D….CJL

  4. Terri Fiorello Says:

    Hey baby brother! Really enjoying all your new poems and the deep feelings you pour out into words for others to feel. Truly a gifted writer Deon! Love you dearly! Terri


Leave a Reply

