Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 06 Poetry: Explosion April 6, 2016

Happy April the 6th to you all.

I lost my sight a few years ago, but oh how I still can see. How I have learned how to see a different way, a new direction, and as I see things differently today, I still remember the visions of my past. I also remember those first days of vision loss back in 2010, and as troubling as those days were, I believe that those days, weeks, months were probably some of the most important in my life, for as you all know, with pain, there is growth, and with growth, there is always hope that tomorrow will be a better day than today. Yes, it’s true that some tomorrows were better, and some I wished I could have given away, but to what end.

This poem, like a lot of other poems I have written, wanders down those darkened roads that vision loss took me down. The feelings, the feelings. Oh my how those feelings found a home whether I wanted them or not.

For what it’s worth, I needed to go through what I went through. I needed the hardened lessons of those days so that I might be able to enjoy the good times that were still ahead of me.

This is the sixth poem for the month, and I hope you all are able to see, hear and feel the goodness that each day can bring to you.

There’s a lot of it out there, so what do you say and go grab yourself some, ok?

Thanks for dropping in, and do drop in again.

dp

***

Explosion
A Poem by DP Lyons

The night slowly closes in
An unwelcomed tone starts to settle in
Worried thoughts cause commotion as they barge in
Darkened dreams are constantly mixed in

Confusing feelings tug at you
Endless havoc has its way with you
Scattered emotions rain down on you
Restless heart pounds deep within you

Battered spirit wanders away
Menacing demons pull you away
Familiar voices seem miles away
Soothing memories are quickly rushed away

Blindness has an unwanted feel
Panic numbs as you forget how to feel
Tormenting darkness dares you to feel
Senses explode as you touch, as you feel

Take a small step, learn how once again
Figure it out, live it again
Stand tall and proud, walk forward again
As new visions take shape, breathe in deep again

 

2 Responses to “2016 04 06 Poetry: Explosion”

  1. I ommend you on writing 30 poems in 30 days – a major undertaking!
    You are a “writing machine” – keep it going! Best to you. Lynda

  2. carol lyons Says:

    How far you’ve come on your journey. I admire you so, CJ


Leave a Reply

