Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 04 03 Poetry: Building Blocks April 2, 2016

Well look at that! It’s April the second already! My oh my how the time flies by when you’re having fun. I bet some of you just thought to yourselves, “I know, right?”

Anyway, it’s the second day of National Poetry Month. Ya, that’s right. Big burly billy goat writing poetry. Kinda funny looking, right? Grin

Ok, ok, I’m sorry. I’ll focus a little more and try to get this post all sorted out. Like I said, it’s April the second, and below you will find my second installment of the “Poem a Day” challenge that I committed to.

This poem I started this morning, and finished just a few minutes ago. Now, don’t get carried away. It’s not like I worked on it all day. I took a break to go help my grandson celebrate his 10th birthday today, and I’m all caked out, with no room to spare.

And away we go with poem number 2!

Thanks again for stopping by Surviving, and have a restful night.
Dp

***

Building Blocks
A poem by DP Lyons

Take one step
Then one more
It’s really not that far
Reaching out
Reaching up
A shimmer from a star

Learning curves
Building blocks
The man upon the moon
One more step
School bus trips
Summer ends too soon

Growing up
Heading out
The world is calling you
Moving vans
Plastic cards
Thirty days past due

Baby’s here
Bottle’s cold
Sleepless nights begin
Late for work
Traffic jam
Heartburn settles in

Baseball gloves
Ballet shoes
Cell phone died tonight
Ice cream cones
Pizza box
Slacks are getting tight

One by one
College bound
Years have rolled on past
Lonely house
Empty rooms
Memories that last

Growing old
Worried frown
Can’t remember crap
Supper time
Microwave
Time to take a nap

Take one step
Then one more
Partners till the end
Better half
Kindred soul
My life, my love, my friend

 

7 Responses to “2016 04 03 Poetry: Building Blocks”

  1. Diane Newark Says:

    Lovely

  2. Barry Says:

    Liked it a lot Deon. U had me from the beginning. Luv you tons

  3. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–I rate highly the meter and rhythm of your second poem for National Poetry Month. Two for two! What a simple, yet profound snapshot of life in your few words and relatively few lines. Thanks also for your “dog” note today. How grand that your grandson’s birthday celebration is during National Poetry Month!

    Looking forward to poem number three–Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Morning Alice. Sometimes life goes by so fast that all we’re left with are those little snapshots, but oh how they fill up a scrapbook. Thanks for the note, and go get yourself some more pictures. dp

  4. Dee Says:

    Love this poem Deon, what a perfect summary of life!
    xoxo Dee

  5. carol lyons Says:

    YOU COVERED IT ALL AND I LOVE IT…..LOOKING FORWARD TO MORE….XXXX MOM


Leave a Reply

