Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 03 29 Spring Did Sprung March 29, 2016

Spring Did Sprung

The geese were flying low last night as the late evening sun sank slowly through the trees. Either the same honkers were circling around, or there were several different groups of them. I don’t know what it is about this area out here. Every spring, and every fall their chorus can be heard up and down our road. My wife pointed out to me a very large group of them waddling around in a field a week or so ago. She backed the van up and rolled down the window. From the sound, I’d say there must have been at least a hundred of the beautiful creatures. A migrating song, second to none.

We’ve been rather lucky this winter, as the weather has been quite mild. Here it is the 29th of March, and the snow has been gone for the better part of a month. Yes, we get an occasional snow storm, but following the winter trend, it just doesn’t get a chance to stick around too long. Not that I’m complaining, oh no indeed. I’d rather dodge wet rain drops than shovel crystallized ones.

I’m not a big fan of mud season either. I remember back when I bounced around in my work truck all day. When I got home, I would have to do the vehicle two step. With mud season, comes soft ground, and this meant I would lose my work truck parking spot along side the driveway. I would get home, leave the truck running out in the road, run inside to get the keys to the van, start up and back out the van, get out and run back to my work truck, move the truck into the driveway, get out and run out to the van in the road and then pull it back into the single lane driveway behind my trusty work truck.

I used to call my work truck, my little Pez dispenser, because the last several ones I had were the flip forward cab structure. I didn’t care for them much, mainly because if I were to be in a head on accident, I feared I would surely be the first one there. Groan

This musical motor game went on from usually mid April to mid May, as this was the usual time span for our traditional Battleridge mud season. Spring thaw had so many characteristics to it, and this was but only one of them.

Now, don’t forget that after we had run our errands, or did whatever we needed to do in our family van, I had to swap the vehicles around all over again, so my Pez dispenser was ready to head out the next morning as I made my way out into my work day.

Oh joyous fun! Oh happy trails! Oh my God what a frigging pain in my as you can see, our mud season is well under way, with hopes of it being done by the time it usually is just getting started.

Come on global warming, or climate change, or whatever the trendy, going phrase is this year! I kept thinking to myself, which happens a lot, but doesn’t produce much, that if it’s been mild up to now, we’ll surely end up paying for it in the long run.

I hope the long run doesn’t come around until next winter.

Spring is my favorite time of the year. It’s like everything starts to wake up, and as it stretches as it rises and shines, things start to magically grow up from the dull, gray existence of winter’s menacing grip. I loved driving down the road in spring, any road in spring, and seeing the patches of trees beginning to show their green colors. The first few were the most brilliant, as the light greens painted the barren landscapes, until after a week or three, instead of trying to find small patches of green, I was noticing the patches of trees that had yet to sprout their calling cards of life.

Yes, spring surely is an amazing thing to see. The sights, the sounds, the smells, it’s all so different, and it happens every single year. Oh, those fall colors do dazzle the palettes of fall, and the winter months with their frozen display of icy wonder, and summer? Oh my how summer can bring out the innocence in a young child’s smile. The trips to the coast, Down East, Long Beach, Sebago Lake State Park, North Gorham, it was the home for so many alluring and fascinating memories, but none of them, not a single one, would have been possible without my old friend, spring.

Every year spring brings us the start of another great possibility. Every year, spring builds a landscape that is surpassed by nothing else on the face of the earth. Every year, spring delivers what it promises.

It’s up to us to build those memories that last.

I hope this spring is the start of something amazing for you. I hope you’re able to get out there and grab yourself some of the most spectacular thing in the world. I also hope you come back to visit my blog again.

I wish you the best of what today has to offer, and an even better tomorrow.

dp

 

5 Responses to “2016 03 29 Spring Did Sprung”

  1. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–Thanks for sharing the hope of Spring in your special style. Take care–Alice

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Alice. It’s so good to hear from you. Spring is surely here, and I hope it’s warming rays reach deep within your heart, for it is a beautiful heart indeed. Blessings. dp

  2. Rolfe A. Frost Says:

    It somehow made my day.It gives me a lot to think about.

  3. carol lyons Says:

    Spring held so many wonderful memories for me and made me realize how i miss all that goes with it in the good old state of Maine! The muddy roads are a true test of how hard mother earth works to push out the cold and bring back the warmth and beauty that lies waiting underneath to grow again. well done hon, xxx mom


Leave a Reply

