Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2016 01 20 Amazing Memories January 20, 2016

There are certain things that I will never remember, and there are certain things that I will never forget. There are those things that are etched so vividly in my mind, and there are those things that I seem to only remember bits and pieces of.

I started a list a couple years ago of things that I’ll never forget. The document has turned into several pages of things that I recall. One of them was what we in my childhood neighborhood called, the 4:30 whistle. A factory down town rang out every afternoon at 4:30 with the end of shift whistle. No matter where you were, you knew what time it was, right then, and right there. Right on time, every day, just like old faithful.

I mentioned this to my sister a few months back, and for some reason, she doesn’t remember anything about the 4:30 whistle. No recollection, no memory, nothing at all. I couldn’t believe this, and at first thought she was pulling my leg. I mean, how could she not remember this most prominent staple in our childhood? Surely she had to have been joking, but she insisted that she wasn’t.

It’s funny how our minds gather and process information, events, moments in our lives. From the most important moments, to those instances that don’t really have any bearing on anything, there’s no telling what our minds are going to do with it all.

I’ve had certain things pointed out to me by my sister that I can’t remember at all. What was important to her, might not have been to me, and vice, versa. How do we distinguish what’s important, and what’s forgettable? How does our marvelously amazing brain pick and choose where information goes, how to store it, how to label it, how to recall it?

I often think that I’m at that point in my life where if I haven’t thought of something when I was younger, I never will. I feel that if I haven’t recalled it up till now, it’s forgotten forever. I think that there’s a good chance I will never recall, recollect, remember something from my past that I haven’t remembered up until now.

Gone forever, in the cobwebs of time? How would we know? How would we tell?

There’s no better feeling than when you recollect something from your childhood. The sights, the sounds, the feelings deep inside, the smells, all of it, bundled up into one neat little package, just for you.

No one can remember things quite like we can. Our own slivers of the past, saved to savor, stored to adore, categorized within our brains to catapult us into our very own stories of the past, built for especially us.

Things that have happened since 2010 seem to take different roads. Some of the memories seem like they happened a lifetime ago, while other morsels of memory seem like just a moment ago. Has six years gone by so fast, or is it just another mind trick along a magician’s timeline of information?

I remember when I was a little kid. I remember thinking that I would never be as old as those older people I saw, especially the really, really old ones.

And here I am, nearly as old as those who I thought of as really old. What happened to the time? Don’t you think that with all the years, all the people, all the events and special times, each adding more and more data into our memories, where to put all that information?

It probably would have been great if I could have invested in a brain upgrade with a larger hard drive and more ram. Virtual memory with a quad core processor.

What would have been convenient has conveniently turned into something else, and it’s all mine.

Thanks again for stopping by. If you can remember something new today, grab hold of it and try to remember those unique feelings that went along with those amazing moments of your past.

Stay warm and healthy out there.

dp

 

4 Responses to “2016 01 20 Amazing Memories”

  1. Dee Says:

    I remember the smells that I grew
    up with. The smell of fresh baked
    molasses cookies that my mom
    made, and grammie Lyons’s freshly
    baked yeast bread. Then at Christmas,
    my grammie Sue’s gingerbread men
    that she made each year….Ah, the
    smells of my childhood! (:
    xo Dee

  2. It’s funny that you talk about your memories here, because as I blind person, I remember things from my childhood, that I know my parents nore my brothers would remember. For exampld, I remember the strange sound out TV made one day while my dad was watching wrestling, and how when the sound seemed to sped up, then slow down, I covered my ears until it settled into a consistant pattern. The change in sound scared me at that time. Small things like seem to come back to me from time to time, and I don’t say anything about them to other people, especially my mom, because they wouldn’t know what I was talking about. I think not being to take in the world around us with our eyes, helps us to pay attention to and remember the unusual aspects of life, such as dreams we had as children, or the odd sounds, smells, and sensation, or even the good tast of food that some folks find to be strange. Thanks for sharing this wonderful post, and happy writing. Take those memories that you found important, and use them to get the creative juices flowing.

  3. alice13zoe Says:

    Deon–Your opening sentence is quite an attention-grabber. Congratulations on another very thought-provoking essay! Contrasting your memories with those of your sister’s is a quite interesting approach. Memories of a happy childhood are such a gift! Treasure all those special memories! Happy writing about the sweet memories (and I do not mean chocolate). Hoping the big winter storm does not reach your area–Alice


Leave a Reply

