Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 12 23 Christmas Poetry: Dear Santa December 23, 2015

Dear Santa

Dear Santa, can you hear me
? Am I talking loud enough
Can you hear me from your home up north
Through all the trees and stuff

I’d really like for you to know
How good I’ve been this year
If you could see how good I’ve been
I’m sure that you would cheer

When Mom asks me to clean my room
I sweep and clean all day
I usually pick up all my toys
And put my clothes away

When I watch my little brother
And play outside with him
We smile and laugh and hug a lot
Until Mom says, “Come in”

I always try to tell the truth
But some times it’s really rough
Mom and Dad, they always know
And that makes it really tough

I’ve always tried to brush my teeth
Each day for all these years
I scrub my face, and wash my hands
And clean behind my ears

I seem to do pretty well at school
I read and write ok
I get along with all the kids
At recess when we play

And then, of course, there’s supper time
I always clean my plate
Except when we have squash and stuff
That I really, really hate

I hug and kiss my mom and dad
At the end of every day
I bless the kids, and thank the Lord
When mamma helps me pray

There’s one more thing that you should know
I’m sorry, but it’s true
I love my family most of all
Even more than I love you

I really truly love you though
And hope you understand
As you steer your reindeer through the night
And fly throughout the land

So Santa, if you should make it
To my house, I hope you’ll see
The cookies and the glass of milk
On the table, by the tree

I love you Santa

 

6 Responses to “2015 12 23 Christmas Poetry: Dear Santa”

  1. You take on the persona of a small boy speaking about Christmas, Deon. I think you could think about developing this into a children’s book. Why not send it out to a Children’s magazine, or to an editor of Children’s books? I think it could be delightful when put with illustrations – I think it is lovely.

  2. carol lyons Says:

    OH SO TRUE….EVEN TO THE HATING SQUASH HA HA….SANTA KNEW WHAT A GOOD BOY YOU WERE THAT IS WHY HE BROUGHT YOU ALL THOSE GREAT GIFTS……

  3. alice13zoe Says:

    Christmas Greetings! Deon–What a Christmas treasure your poem is! Writing about the holidays brings such joy to the readers and the writer! Thanks for sharing your writing gift throughout this year of 2015. Christmas blessings to you and yours–Alice


Leave a Reply

