Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 06 17 None the Less June 17, 2015

I noticed something the other day, and that’s that I shuffle my feet when I walk across the floor. I do the same thing that used to make me laugh when I was a young sprite. I’ve turned old, right before my very eyes that can’t see. Not that it really bothers me, or I should say, out of sight, out of mind, right?

I remember when I was a young lad, watching older people and the way they handled themselves. They just seemed to have such a significant stature about themselves that I was sure I would never see. Now, I don’t know if I have achieved that same stature as I used to witness, but I’m old none the less.

I know, I know. All you guys and gals that are roughly the same age as me are calling me names as you read this, or completely exiting this post. I’m sorry for stuffing you into this rude category, but all I’m trying to do is convey the fact that no matter where I go, the older I become, and I’ve been to quite a few places, so I can’t help but realize that I must have done some huge amounts of oldening up.

Is oldening up a useable phrase?

I didn’t think so, but I ain’t letting that stop me!

Onward, through the fog!

There I go, getting older by the moment again. Again? I didn’t stop getting older, did i? I didn’t stop maturing and acting, umm, older, did I? I didn’t stop doddering and fidgeting and rambling and fumbling, did I? I just pissed a lot of you off once again, didn’t I?

Good. Nothing like getting things accomplished.

I was with my son and grand son the other day, and as I sat in amazement, I thought to myself how wonderful it was to be able to be with two of the most important men in the world. I thought and I shifted in my seat as I thought some more, and it dawned on me that my grand son Jack is the same age as I was when I used to look at grown ups, older people as really, really old. Then I thought to myself that I’m of the age that I never thought I would ever be, and as I once again shifted in my seat, I smiled as I reached out and squeezed Jack’s shoulder.

Then I reached down and grabbed his knee until he screamed out in tickled agony!

Sometimes being old has its advantages, you know?

 

Leave a Reply

