Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 04 25 Poetry: Mother April 25, 2015

April 25th is here, and once again, so are you. Welcome! I hope you’re all doing well.

I write a lot about a lot. I write about the sun, the moon, the stars, the seasons, the birds and wildlife, and yes, I write about family. It’s the most important thing to me under the sun. It’s what holds my world together, and it’s what keeps me moving forward.

There is no love like that which we feel towards family. There is nothing that grows stronger over time like family. Putting it mildly, there’s nothing that will ever compare to, you guessed it, family.

I was thinking of my mum this morning. I thought back to when I was a little guy, and how calming and soothing it was knowing she was there. She instilled in me a lot of the characteristic traits that keep me company today. She gave me a piece of her heart that I will selfishly keep with me through all eternity. She expected things from me, and demanded things from me. Through it all, she gave me what I needed to become the man I am.

This poem is dedicated to her, my mom. Even with all of my love, I will never be able to express how much she means to me and how thankful I am that she is, indeed, my mom.

dp

***

Mother

Mother, oh mother, hear my pleading call
Shivering child from years ago stands before you
Grant me access to your warming heart
Calm my scattered spirit with your magical potion

I remember your words as I craved your touch
I remember your gentle kiss on my forehead
I remember wrapping my arms around you
I remember

Please sing me that same, soothing lullaby
Please rock me in your arms until I fall fast asleep
Please tell me everything will be alright
Please

Walk beside me as we brave the world
Walk beside me as I dare to dream
Walk beside me as your older boy discovers the unknown
Walk beside me

Promise me a handful of possibilities
Promise me of the love that awaits me
Promise me a family of my own
Promise me

Rescue me from a dastardly foe
Rescue me from an unrelenting obstacle course
Rescue me and whisper your calming tone
Rescue me

Sing to me your praise as you stare into my eyes
Sing to me of the opportunity each day provides
Sing to me your anthem of faith, love and hope
Sing to me

Share your secrets with me
Guide me towards tomorrow
Pray for me as I do for you
Watch over me with confidence

Soothe my skipping heartbeat with your healing touch
Calm my worried gaze with your gentle touch
Release my anxious breath with a mother’s touch
Mother, Oh Mother

 

One Response to “2015 04 25 Poetry: Mother”

  1. daddylion Says:

    awesome hon,she will love it lu dad  From: Surviving To: lubecker34@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, April 25, 2015 11:48 AM Subject: [New post] 2015 04 25 Poetry: Mother #yiv5085758270 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5085758270 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5085758270 a.yiv5085758270primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5085758270 a.yiv5085758270primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5085758270 a.yiv5085758270primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5085758270 a.yiv5085758270primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5085758270 WordPress.com | DP Lyons posted: “April 25th is here, and once again, so are you. Welcome! I hope you’re all doing well.I write a lot about a lot. I write about the sun, the moon, the stars, the seasons, the birds and wildlife, and yes, I write about family. It’s the most important th” | |


Leave a Reply

