Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 04 18 Poetry: Nothing But You April 18, 2015

Have you ever experienced love at first sight? Have you ever had your heart submerged in complete warmth before? Have you ever not been able to swallow after you laid your eyes on the most incredibly beautiful creature in the world?

Have you ever?

The first time I looked into my wife’s eyes was the day when my world changed. All of my inhibitions, all of my shyness, all of my worries and fears and anything else that kept me from being able to approach women, it all went flying out of the window, and out of existence.

She was there, and nothing could get her out of my head. Nothing!

I wish these same feelings, these same emotions, these same beautiful points of life to happen to as many of you as possible, if they haven’t yet. It’s magic, pure and simple. It’s an amazement that left me speechless. It’s a burning light that lit up the soul of my being, and as I gazed into her eyes, again and again, each time I felt as if the light was being lit once again.

The following poem, in honor of National Poetry Month is dedicated to the love of my life.

Her name is Lynne, and I’m not sure if I have described the experience correctly, but I do hope you can fill in the blanks with your own personal stories.

Thanks for dropping in, and be well.

Deon

***

Nothing But You

I sit and I stare at complete, uncontrollable beauty
I sit and I breathe in your gaze from across the room
My hands fumble with feelings they can’t comprehend
No matter where I look, You’re all that I see

Beads of sweat form on my brow
Beating heart skips and flutters with life
Anxious eyes travel to you, then quickly away
A stirring feeling like absolutely nothing before totally consumes me

Shyly, you look my way, and smile
My throat grows dry
My feet nervously start to tap
My mind starts to spin

Every line of your face burns into my soul
My mind is bombarded by a picture of you
I see nothing in the room, but you
Again, you look at me, and the world stands perfectly still

I can’t breathe
I can’t think
I can’t stop my mind from circling around you
I just can’t

I think I’m in love
I feel I’m in love
I sense I’m in love
I am in love

 

Leave a Reply

