Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 04 16 Poetry: Destination Home April 16, 2015

National Poetry Month is chugging right along, and I’m still finding it hard to believe that it’s been a whole year since I recognized it on my blog last year. So many poets and writers that have come before me have given this month reason to celebrate the true artistry of word and pen. I will never find enough time to read all of the amazement from around the world, and the list of incredible contributions continues to grow each and every second of every day.

My submission for today is a poem I wrote that evolves around some of those most important times in our lives. We live, and breathe, and as we fill our minds with countless emotions and experiences from our lives, we select and choose which ones to entertain us while we dream away our nights.

I can remember some of those dreams from when I was a kid. Running in quicksand, falling off a cliff and waking up at the last moment before, well, it’s a feeling that can’t be duplicated. I also remember waking up with feelings of incredible joy. Tingling from head to toe with a smile as big as Nebraska. I hope I’m able to generate these incredible feelings of goodness as I live and breathe, but until then, I’ll just keep on dreaming until the light of dawn sneaks its way in through the curtains.

Thanks again for stopping by Surviving. I write as I do because something inside me tells me to do so. If any of these poems, or any of my other writings find a home inside your imagination, then a smile will find a home as it slides across my face.

Take care, and don’t forget to dream.

dp

***

Destination Home

Another dream filled night has come
To work its way till dawn
Shadowed memories and curtain calls
Of moments, here, then gone

Soaring flight through a starry night
Destination, home
Handfuls of yesterday’s shimmering light
Of what will, and might become

Roaring seas and meadowed breeze
A train ride back through time
Skipping rocks on an endless pond
Finding a shiny new dime

Faceless names and nursery games
Riding my very own bike
Feeding ducks from delivery trucks
And screaming down the pike

An endless search for an overdue chore
Waiting on the moon
A friendly face in a familiar place
Morning comes too soon

Wipe away the sleepy seeds
Brush away the night
Yawn and stretch and never forget
The dreams that hold you tight

 

One Response to “2015 04 16 Poetry: Destination Home”

  1. daddylion Says:

    good one hon,as they all are –lol lu dad  From: Surviving To: lubecker34@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, April 16, 2015 7:37 PM Subject: [New post] 2015 04 16 Poetry: Destination Home #yiv6139786357 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6139786357 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6139786357 a.yiv6139786357primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6139786357 a.yiv6139786357primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6139786357 a.yiv6139786357primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6139786357 a.yiv6139786357primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6139786357 WordPress.com | DP Lyons posted: “National Poetry Month is chugging right along, and I’m still finding it hard to believe that it’s been a whole year since I recognized it on my blog last year. So many poets and writers that have come before me have given this month reason to celebrate th” | |


Leave a Reply

