Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2015 04 12 Poetry: So Much More April 12, 2015

Well it’s the 12th of April, and I’m still hanging in there. I hope there aren’t 48 days in April.

Umm, there aren’t 48 days in April, right?

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m a blind billy goat looking for a blackberry patch to ramble through. They also know that I have had to learn a different way to live, and seeing how it’s five years later, you’d think I’d be through with all this learning and growing and figuring and tutoring and well I’ll tell you, the learning and figuring never stops. Never ever!

I have had to experience so many things for the first time that some days I feel like a perpetual beginner on his first day of school. If I were, attending my first day of school that is, I would like it if it was the fourth grade. That way I could go up for seconds at lunch time, like all the other bigger kids did, or still do. It was a turning point in my life the first time I went up for seconds on pizza day. I especially liked beets day, because not many kids liked beets, and they would come and dump theirs onto my tray. Beet heaven! I felt like Dwight Shrewt.

Ok, ok, I know a lot of you don’t have a clue who I’m talking about, and I won’t hold it against you.

Now, where was I?

Well, the following poem I wrote a couple hours ago. I didn’t do much editing, other than a few words and a couple typos, so excuse me for any inexcusables.

Did I spell that right?

Anyways, here you go with the April 12th submission for the National Poetry Month. I hope all of ya’s are doing good, and come back whenever you can.

Deon

***

So Much More

Never forget those searching eyes,
Never settle for the obvious.
Never overlook a new beginning.
When will we learn a new way to see?
How will we learn a new way to live?
Why will we learn new questions to ask?
So much more within our grasp.
So much more lies beyond.
So much more develops within.
So much more.
Close those eyes and look through the heart.
Open the mind and look through the soul.
Spread those arms and embrace the new.
The vision is born within the mind.
The mind is a magnet.
The world is magnetic.
The union is destiny.
The result is life.

 

2 Responses to “2015 04 12 Poetry: So Much More”

  1. Paula Lumb Says:

    Love this poem. Refreshing. Uplifting. Insightful. Wowza!!!


Leave a Reply

