Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 02 08 Blessed February 8, 2015

Blessed

I’m blessed, or at least I feel that I am blessed, but how can I really tell? How would I know the difference? How on earth would I know blessed from unblessed? Is unblessed a word, and if it is, does it mean what I want it to mean? Am I rambling through the brambles like a billy goat usually does?

Back on track, or close enough to count, I truly feel blessed, and I’m not ashamed to say that some days I overlook those things that I should always recognize as blessings. It’s fairly easy to do you know. I mean, with all the commotion that some days have a tendency to shovel at us, it’s normal to forget the simple things in our lives as we are totally consumed with an abundant amount of things we call life. Coming at us this way, and that, we forget as we remember, and then we remember the things that we sometimes forget. Add it all up, and the blessings are endless, infinite.

I was talking with my folks this morning on the phone, and I told them how grateful that I was for having crossed paths with such an incredible amount of inspiration within the blind community. I told them how blessed I am with having such an amazing family. They both responded with similar feelings, and as we reminisced over the past, the feelings inside rose like a Quoddy tide, completely consuming my emotions with love, faith and hope. I then realized how these three things can get the human heart through almost any obstacle, any situation, any detour or road block or happenstance that can cause a spirited soul to stray off course.

I am blessed. This I know, and as I believe it I live it.

My mom said that with all of the situations out there, with all of the compelling stories of personal woe and torment, she felt extremely fortunate that for the most part, our immediate family made it through the years relatively healthy, and as we have grown older, we are still all together, as a family. Through the years, we have grown closer, even though the miles have pulled us further apart. Home truly is where the heart is, and our hearts are all clustered together, as one, strengthening our ability to overcome, to endure, to absorb, adapt and advance our way, together.

There are many different ways that the blessings in my life take shape. I am blessed that I am able to pray to a God every day of my life. I am blessed with support, with guidance, with opportunities abound, and as I recognize them, I am blessed with insight and strength to live the experiences and learn from the outcomes. I might be blind, but I am blessed with vision, with sight that for the most part had always remained unseen.

As the darkness of 2010 closed in on me, a light from inside grew. I’m sure that I have only scratched the surface of this light, but I suppose that recognizing its existence is a huge step towards each new chapter of my life.

I am blessed, and for that I give thanks. With the blessings comes inspiration, which until a few years ago, also remained for the most part, unseen and unnoticed. Taking notice of inspiration was very important for me, but being able to take it and utilize it to better myself is something completely different. As a child, I was always trying to catch up to my siblings, for it was they who were doing the inspiring. I idolized them all, and with an open mind and heart, I soaked up as much from them as I could, without even knowing it.

As we all learned from our parents, so have I learned from others I have crossed paths with. The family of the blind community has been alive and well long before I took my first steps, and it will remain vibrant long after I’ve taken my last breath. This amazing collection of inspiration has cascaded down into my life and shown that no matter how insurmountable, no matter how bleak, no matter how hopeless it seems, there are those who have gone through the same, lived through the same, grown up and through and out of the relentless grips of despair and pulled together as one to rise and live life to the fullest, taking advantage of, here we go again, those opportunities that disguise themselves as barriers.

I am who I am because of what I have become, and with a pinch of this and a dash of that, my ingredients, if mixed and blended correctly, will continue to offer up what I hope is some of the same as I have been handed. Passing it on, so to speak, is life, never ending. Paying it forward is a privilege, and for myself, is an obligation I hope that each of us takes pride in taking part in.

I am blessed, and for that, I give thanks to everything involved.

Blessed are those who live, who love, who learn and who give back what they have themselves been given.

Have an amazingly incredible day.

dp

 

One Response to “2014 02 08 Blessed”

  1. Paula Says:

    And we are blessed to have you in our lives, as well.


Leave a Reply

