Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 01 23 Poetry: In the Blink of an Eye January 23, 2015

Evening readers.

I love poetry. Always have, and always will. I’m not very good at critiquing other people’s poetry, and most of the time, I don’t know what to think of my own. I do know one thing though, and that’s when the words start to sing down through the page, and the rhyming comes in rhythmic tones, there’s no other feeling quite like it.

I have written about a lot of things, my youth, my family, my loves, dislikes, and yes, losing my vision. Nothing else seems to have gripped my soul when it comes to my writing, and although it has been a struggle figuring out how to be blind, I am blessed with the opportunities that it affords. The trip into my soul is expressible, and with words, the trip is helping me to figure out who I am, who I was, and who I might someday become.

I hope you like my poetry, as a few of them will find their way onto this blog.

Thanks for your support, and remember to keep searching for the learning.

dp

***

In the Blink of an Eye
04 09 2014

In the blink of an eye
It all changed
It all swirled around
It all disappeared

In the blink of an eye
A smile was lost
A tear was shed
A heart ripped in two

In the blink of an eye
The curtain was drawn
The lights went out
The sun disappeared

In the blink of an eye
The world stopped spinning
The universe imploded
The stars whispered good bye

In the blink of an eye
I searched for tomorrow
I searched for sight
I searched for You

In the blink of an eye
Everything was gone
Everything eluded me
Everything reminded me of nothing at all

In the blink of an eye
I started again
I started a new chapter
I started seeing a different way

In the blink of an eye
I learned how to crawl
I learned how to breathe
I learned how to walk through a different day

In the blink of an eye
I touched something new
I heard something new
I became something I never new

In the blink of an eye

 

2 Responses to “2014 01 23 Poetry: In the Blink of an Eye”

  1. Hi Deon, so nice to read thsi poem today. I think all blind people can relate to this in a very deep way. I sure do. I found your first words of every line interesting on the page…they form a barrier of sorts, visually, down the page. It was like looking at a picket fence withe the “I” words all lined up vertically, and then a few other words in-between the pickets of the “I” words. It made a distinct pattern on the page – is that intentional?

    • DP Lyons Says:

      Hi Lynda. I guess I’m not sure what your talking about. I’ll have to have Lynne read it and tell me what she thinks. Thanks for the note. I’m so glad you liked it. Take care. dp


Leave a Reply

