Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 09 21 So Long Week Four September 21, 2014

So Long Week Four

Well here I am, smack dab at the end of week four, and all I can do is root through the ups and downs of some of the fastest four weeks of my life. Through the month, I have tried to remain as positive as possible, and for the most part, I have remained grateful. I have stepped back when I needed stepping back. I took advice and used it when advice was exactly what I needed. I asked for help when I learned it’s sometimes what I do best. I accepted help when it presented itself, and though sometimes I didn’t feel that I needed it, I graciously humbled my ego and grabbed an elbow.

I forgot my cane one day, my ear buds another, and my digital recorder made it with me every single day of the month. I’d say that ain’t too bad for a rusty, dusty, tattered, old billy goat from the ridge. Actually, I’d say it was frigging amazing. Grin

I have been tugged back and forth with accessibility issues, mostly having to do with my laptop. Thank you Mr. Tardif for your patience and understanding. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it. One thing I did was make a promise to myself that I would do my part to go the extra mile and try not to be a burden on my classmates, instructors, tutors and whomever I come in contact with. I am old school, molded by the hands of an old school father, and although he might not know it, I am a chip off the old block.

It would have benefitted me if I would have started learning my Windows 8 laptop earlier in the summer, but it just didn’t happen. Neither did learning Office 2013. Did I ever tell you I hate ribbons? If not, then let me tell you, I most undoubtedly do. I suppose I had been able to cheat with my Office 2003. You see, my sight was still with me back when I used the old fashioned tab menus and drop lists. I could picture them in my mind and was comfortable with them. I was never much of an Office user, but I was familiar with how to go about using it. Not so with these pesky ribbons. Not so to the nth degree.

Did I ever tell you I hate ribbons? I’m not too fond of bows either, and it’s all Microsoft’s fault. I await the release of Windows 9 and pray it falls back upon some overdue logic.

I have had a few mishaps with my mobility, but not too many. I had a young girl graciously open the right door of a double door set for me a couple weeks ago, and I walked right into the door on the left. I can imagine how it looked. My hat flipped up on my head, my knee rattled the door’s frame and my foot kicked the door. The only thing that didn’t come in contact with the door, was my cane! Go figure. All I could do was mumble, “Well I guess I found that door alright.” I’m glad I couldn’t see, because I’d rather not know who was watching. That set me back for a half hour or so, but I eventually shrugged it off as just another one of those things that I probably could have avoided, but didn’t.

I have kicked a chair. Ok, ok, I have kicked several chairs. I have pounded a desk with my thigh a few times, knocked someone’s pencil, or pen, off their desk. I have walked into a parking slot when I thought it was a sidewalk. I have only walked into the wrong classroom four times though, and that is perty darn good for a cane smacker. I haven’t tripped anyone up with my cane yet, and care not to think about that day which surely do cometh.

I have been blessed to have both of my current text books available for the Learning Ally program. I am accessing them on my iPod Touch, and it is so much more accessible on that platform versus my desktop or laptop. I know there will come the day when I won’t be able to get a text book in this format, and I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. For now though, I am smiling with the accessibility and praising those who deserve praising.

Week four is behind me now, and it seems almost too good to be true. I remember waddling around campus this summer, trying to figure out how on earth I was going to pull this college thing off. I didn’t have a clue where I was going to collect the courage from. Funny thing is, all I had to do was let the inspiration of the last four years settle in and take its place. I have found so much of it, and so many places where it comes to good use.

I know it’s only four weeks, but it’s four more weeks than I had just four weeks ago.

Thanks KVCC, the blind community, DBVI, Sarge, my family, friends and anyone else I haven’t tripped up with my cane yet.

Look out double doors! Here I come!

 

3 Responses to “2014 09 21 So Long Week Four”

  1. Carol Spring Says:

    God Bless you Deon, you are truly an amazing man

  2. Deon, I was with you, as you slammed into double doors, kicked desks and chairs, and sent pens or pencils flying to the floor, and they thought I was a wild child in the second grade when I knocked over chairs and threw a figure of the Christ Child across the room. Smile. I’m looking forward to reading about Week 5.


Leave a Reply

