Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 04 21 Poetry: Skipping Stone April 21, 2014

Skipping Stone

Flickering sunlight slides in through the passing trees
The hum of the tires on the pavement sets my wandering mind in motion
Memories take hold of my hand and lead me back in time
Graced with magic of the mind, I look through the eyes of a boy
The emotion is there
The energy is there
I, am there
The slide show of unforgettable snapshots is from long ago
The smells, the sounds, the emotions generate a calm from deep within
The age of youth, for a moment or two, directs the scene
Childhood ways born from youthful days, gaze back through eyes of innocence
A simple tone soothes as it beats in time with a rhythmic lullaby
So easy to see
So right to feel
So familiar to touch
My heart strums the chords of yesterday’s song
A smile breaks the surface as I remember
I breathe in deep and slowly exhale
And away we go, like a skipping stone, back ahead, into today

 

2 Responses to “2014 04 21 Poetry: Skipping Stone”


Leave a Reply

