Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 04 09 Poetry: In the Blink of an Eye April 9, 2014

In the Blink of an Eye
A Poem by DP Lyons

In the blink of an eye
It all changed
It all swirled around
It all disappeared

In the blink of an eye
A smile was lost
A tear was shed
A heart ripped in two

In the blink of an eye
The curtain was drawn
The lights went out
The sun disappeared

In the blink of an eye
The world stopped spinning
The universe imploded
The stars whispered good bye

In the blink of an eye
I searched for tomorrow
I searched for sight
I searched for you

In the blink of an eye
Everything was gone
Everything eluded me
Everything reminded me of nothing at all

In the blink of an eye
I started again
I started anew
I started seeing a different way

In the blink of an eye
I learned how to crawl
I learned how to breathe
I learned how to walk through a brand new day

In the blink of an eye
I touched something new
I heard something new
I became something I never new

In the blink of an eye

***

Did you like this poem? If you did, and you would like to read more of my poetry, check out my collection of poems available in paperback or download at:
http://www.amazon.com
http://www.barnesandnoble.com

Poetry compilation entitled: “Ready, Set, Poetry:
Also check out my published novel entitled “Sully Street:. Also available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Thanks for visiting Surviving, and come back soon. I appreciate your support.

dp

 

Leave a Reply

