Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 04 03 Poetry: Cane April 3, 2014

In honor of National Poetry Month, I submit the following poem I wrote a couple years ago. I have written often of my vision loss, and over these past four years, it has helped me tremendously with facing the countless challenges my sightless world has placed in front of me. I thank all of you who have helped me, inspired me and shown me so many amazing ways that a person can live their lives.

And away we go!

***

Cane
A Poem by DP Lyons

Trust is a five letter word that fumbles across my lips.
It’s tone is simple enough, yet it’s uncomplicated meaning eludes me.
Helplessly fearing where I tread seems more appropriate, and complacently calm.
Unseen roads haunt the soul of the sightless spirit.
With a soothing touch, the white cane opens the eyes of my mind.
Seeing with the stick is such an unfamiliar complexity that eludes normal past logic.
The fear is instilled deep and hidden from those who care to look.
Dreaming through a frightening shadow, I see what I hear, what I smell and touch.
I now can dream what I thought to be unseen.
Visions appear through a dream of sight.
The dream unfolds as the day unwinds.
The brightness remains unclear, as the warmth falls down upon me.
I reach for your vision.
I grasp at your sweeping voice.
Touch all that remains hidden from view, and lift me up to see.
Carry me on your shoulders, and help me over the obstacles in my journey.
A world never before seen, comes to life through the staff.
Bring the shadows to me.
Help me feel the road ahead.
Guide me through the darkened path.
Light the twists and turns that lay ahead.
Remember me as the one who trusts.
Remember me as one who learns.
Remember me and lead me home.
Teach me and I will learn.
Speak to me and I will hear.
Show me and I will see.
Guide me and I will follow.
Help me up, and I will trust in you.
My mind understands what my soul feels.
My heart embraces what my fear cannot.
My drive lights the heart of the frightened child within.
Caress the pained dawns and brush the color back into my smile.
Sorrow and pity have no place in my scripted stage.
Raise the curtain and shine the stage lights on the encored events that place their hands upon my shoulders.
Lead me, guide me, direct me, show me, and tell me I will be ok.
If I learn to trust, the belief will follow.
The belief in me will follow the cane.

 

One Response to “2014 04 03 Poetry: Cane”

  1. wwannwrites Says:

    I like that, and it also reminds me of my faith in God. His Children cannot see him, but we must believe in what we can’t see, and trust him with our lives. This poem was a blessing to me. Ann check out my blog at http://www.wwannwrites.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

