Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 03 16 Unexpectedly March 16, 2014

Excuse me. Can you tell me where I’m going? I mean, half the time I don’t even remember where I’ve been.

Where am I? Is this my life? Am I inside my life? Is my life happening right where I am, right now? what if I wasn’t here right now? What if I was way over, there? Would my life be happening way over there instead of right here? How would I know if things were different? Ya ever wonder why there’s so many variables swirling around out there? Ya ever think that inside every fragment of every second of every minute of every hour of every day, anything could happen? It could, right? I mean, so many things have happened in my life that have seemed to drop right out of the blue, or gray, if it’s a cloudy day. What if it was in May. A gray, cloudy day in May? Oh you betcha.

It’s safe to say that so many folks plan for a rainy day, the unexpected, the variables that surround each moment. You can only plan so much though. Without knowing which unexpected happenstance will make its way into your world next, well, how do you know what to plan for?

I tell you what, I plan on being unprepared for every thing that unexpectedly creeps up on me and scares the billy goat bubble gum outta me. Is that good enough? Is it permissible to be unprepared for the unexpected? I hope so, because, here I am!

There’s just way too much going on out there to stay ahead of it all and prepare for all of it. Flat tires, broken dryers, a leaky pipe under the kitchen sink, a rotted mail box post, a wandering hub cap, no milk for the cereal, no cereal for the milk, the DVR didn’t record The Millers, a stuck zipper, a missing button, three left socks, one right, a broken shoe lace, ice covering everything in sight, a thin layer of snow covering the ice, a Patriots loss, and yes, another Red Sox ring. It’s all so unpredictable, and it’s happening all the time. It just never stops.

I’ve worked hard my whole life, except for those times when I didn’t. I tried to save and invest and spend wisely, but life just kept happening. Greedy son of a gun, this life thing.

Wherever you are, wherever you go, what ever you’re doing, get ready, because here it comes, and it’s heading straight for you.

I’ve learned so many things the hard way, which a lot of us probably have, that when you have some sort of advanced notice of something wicked this way it be heading, duck! Run! Avoid direct contact and for God’s sake, warn as many unexpected folks as you can. Then again, when something good comes along, reach out and grab it with both hands and hug it tight. Pretend like it’s the last good thing you’ll ever see. A full package of Oreo double stuffs way in back of the top shelf of the pantry, a Dairy Queen large Blizzard with chocolate ice cream and peanut butter cups. Don’t forget the hot fudge sauce on top. A smile from a friend, a hug from a grandson, a drooling giggle from a little baby, a baby duckling swimming just as fast as a baby duckling can to catch up to its siblings and mother heading across a pond. There’s just as many good things out there as there are not so good things. Probably a heck of a lot more, if you look hard enough.

Plan for this and receive that. Save for this and dish out some cash for that. Fill your freezer with this and then go out to dinner and order, that? Are you kidding me? Really? No arugula please!

All I’m saying is what I’ve probably already said, and I can’t remember most of it, so go out and get some unexpected stuff for yourself. Take a step through the door, climb over the next rise, run up the stairs and open the window. Shout out as loud as you can, “Why did I open this window!?”

It’s all good, and it’s all yours, that is, if you dare to take on one of those unexpected invariables.

Have an unexpectedly great day.

 

3 Responses to “2014 03 16 Unexpectedly”

  1. Gail Johnson Says:

    Hi Deon,
    I like this post. You never know what will come down the pipe from day to day. For me I find the best job I can do is to say: “how can I deal with this new situation with a loving heart.”
    I mean if I get angry or depressed about the precious teapot I got from my Grandmother fir example which just shattered on the floor then it doesn’t make it easy to perhaps figure out where to buy a new one.
    You are right thinking about the good things that have happened to me when life is hard gives strength to hurtle the obstacles.

  2. CAROL LYONS Says:

    HI TO YOU, ENJOYED READING YOUR UPS AND DOWNS. BOY WE ALL HAVE THEM HUH. KEEP THE SPIRITS UP AND THE HAPPINESS WILL CONTINUE TO COME FOR YOU.WE ALL HAVE TO FACE THE HARD TIMES TO REACH THE GOOD TIMES. HARD TO KNOW WHERE WE ARE SOMETIMES. WE ARE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING BE IT A LOVED ONE, FOOD , SOMETHING NEW. SOMEONE TO TALK TO. WE NEVER STOP SEARCHING……CJL


Leave a Reply

