Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2014 02 05 Go Ahead, Inspire Me February 5, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — DP Lyons @ 4:36 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been inspired by many things in my life without even realizing it. It’s sort of sad to know that so many times the inspiration has walked right in front of me, and I didn’t even know it. It’s even sadder still to realize that so many of us have overlooked the little things that are pure inspiration, the sunrise, the sunset, a wink from a parent, a simple gesture of kindness, and on and on it goes.

 

I had someone tell me a while ago that with all of the inspiration I might feel around me, perhaps it is me who is doing the inspiring. The source of this perception caused me to sweep to the left, lean to the right  and take a deep breath. It caused me to breathe deep and reflect on the last couple years.

 

I shrugged it off, as I usually do with such things, and turned my focus back on those who continue to inspire. I realized, reluctantly, that these folks who have caught my attention have been living their lives in the same fashion for quite some time. I also realize that most of them don’t consider themselves a form of inspiration. They live, they love and they learn, the same as you, and me. They feel the warmth of the sun, the coolness of an evening breeze and they count the seconds and minutes until another amazing day is tucked carefully away.

 

It’s so good to be able to feel and realize different forms of inspiration. It doesn’t cost you anything, and it’s completely fat free, so you can have all you want. It doesn’t take a college degree to figure it out, and there’s no need to save your receipt, because you’ll never have to worry about taking it back for a refund.

 

I have been inspired by a lifetime of incredible sunrises, sunsets, high tides, mountain views, baseball fields, puppy paws and double header ice cream cones. I have been inspired by family, friends, folks I never knew, folks I wish I knew and people I’ll probably never see again. I have lathered up all my senses with inspiration and craved even more.

 

Such a sneaky thing, this inspiration. It’ll jump you right out of your shoes at times, and other times, you won’t even know it’s been in the room until it’s gone.

 

If for some reason, someone thinks that I might be a form of inspiration, it’s probably the mirror effect. Perhaps I have the opportunity to have a little bit of it rub off on me. Receiving is something you’ll never forget, but giving is the true gift. I hope I’m able to recognize the givers, but mostly, I hope I’m able to take advantage of what’s right there, staring me in the face.

 

True inspiration is one of the purest elements there is. It’s magnificently rewarding and amazingly abundant. When you live, you learn, and when you take what you learn and keep on living, sooner or later, you’ll probably end up the source of inspiration.

 

So then, what are you waiting for?

 

Go ahead. I dare you.

 

Inspire me!

 

5 Responses to “2014 02 05 Go Ahead, Inspire Me”

  1. Paula Says:

    Sweet, and oh, so true. And on you go with your inspiration….yes, YOU!

  2. wwannwrites Says:

    Sometimes as a writer, my own riting inspires me, I mean in the novel I am working my character Becca is telling me her story in her own way. Tell me what you think. Ann check out my blog at http://www.wwannwrites.wordpress.com

  3. Hope you get this – I did try to leave a message on the blog – but as happens most of the time – I could not get through the security…anyway, I liked the essay and I enjoy reading what you write very much.


Leave a Reply

