Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2013 09 02 Poetry – Cane September 2, 2013

One day, three years ago, I lost my ability to see. I lost my world. I lost everything I knew and that included myself.

 

I began a journey that slowly enabled me to see a different way. I was quickly overcome with the senses that I had overlooked for so long. I quickly learned to hear the sounds, smell the fragrances, taste the flavors of the day and feel my surroundings with my hands and my heart.

 

This poem is one of the many that I wrote in those early days of this new chapter of my life. It’s included in my new book release entitled, “Ready, Set, Poetry.”

I hope you all take the time to gather in as much of your day as possible. Enjoy the gift, for it is the present.

 

D. P. Lyons

 

***

 

Cane

 

 

Trust is a five letter word that fumbles across my lips

It’s tone is simple enough, yet it’s uncomplicated meaning eludes me

Helplessly fearing where I tread seems more appropriate, and complacently calm

Unseen roads haunt the soul of the sightless spirit

With a soothing touch, the white cane opens the eyes of my mind

Seeing with the stick is such an unfamiliar complexity that eludes normal past logic

The fear is instilled deep and hidden from those who care to look

Dreaming through a frightening shadow, I see what I hear, what I smell and touch

I now can dream what I thought to be unseen

Visions appear through a dream of sight

The dream unfolds as the day unwinds

The brightness remains unclear, as the warmth falls down upon me

I reach for your vision

I grasp at your sweeping voice

Touch all that remains hidden from view, and lift me up to see

Carry me on your shoulders, and help me over the obstacles in my journey

A world never before seen, comes to life through the staff

Bring the shadows to me

Help me feel the road ahead

Guide me through the darkened path

Light the  twists and turns that lay ahead

Remember me as the one who trusts

Remember me as one who learns

Remember me and lead me home

Teach me and I will learn

Speak to me and I will hear

Show me and I will see

Guide me and I will follow

Help me up, and I will trust in you  

My mind understands what my soul feels

My heart embraces what my fear cannot

My drive lights the heart of the frightened child within

Caress the pained dawns and brush the color back into my smile

Sorrow and pity have no place in my scripted stage

Raise the curtain and shine the bright lights on the encored events that place their hands upon my shoulders

Lead me,

Guide me,

Direct me,

Show me,

Take the time to tell me I will be alright

If I learn to trust, the belief will follow

The belief in my heart will allow me to follow the cane  

 

***

 

http://www.amazon.com/D.-P.-Lyons/e/B0034PYDRE/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

 

 

7 Responses to “2013 09 02 Poetry – Cane”

  1. CC Cairns Says:

    I salute you! I also admire you shift in consciousness. No one could possibly know what they would do or how they would cope in the event of losing one’s sight. Such a loss has always been the basis for powerful literature in the past and hopefully it can be for you too. Considering the poem above it seems like you are already on your way!

    Regards.

    • dplion Says:

      Thanks for the note CC, and for following Surviving. I have come a long way in these past three years, and I have so far to go, but if I can keep it in today I stand a much better chance. So much inspiration is all around me now, and I am finally realizing it. YOur note is inspiration in itself, and I thank you for that.
      I plan on getting into your site very soon and look forward to it.
      Thanks again,
      dp

      • CC Cairns Says:

        You’re welcome, DP. I actually replied to you already but the touch screen of my IPad is playing up and I believe I lost the message.

        I was just saying that if it was possible to measure and replicate your recents shifts in consciousness, and your return to all of your other senses, mankind would be far beyond the awful situation it finds itself in and be travelling to the stars. Therefore, I do believe that your journey of growth and development is something we could all benefit from by simply listening to what you have to say! I’ll certainly take a real interest in your posts!

        Regards, Colin

      • dplion Says:

        Thanks Colin. I hope that some day we all realize how much we have to learn from each other, and that the learning never stops. dp

        Deon Lyons Author of “Sully Street” And new release, “Ready, Set, Poetry” Both available in Paperback and Digital @ http://www.amazon.com/D.-P.-Lyons/e/B0034PYDRE/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

        Send me an email @ dplion@roadrunner.com Personal Website http://www.dplyons.com Personal Blog http://www.dplyons.wordpress.com Connect with me on Facebook:: https://www.facebook.com/deon.lyons.9

        “The happiest of people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have.” Unknown Author

  2. This is so moving and beautiful. You describe the feelings, fears, challenges, and triumphs of learning to continue with life after sight loss. I so understand this! Really nice work. Two very beautiful poems in my mailbox today – thank you, Deon.

  3. carol lyons Says:

    DEON, AS ALWAYS YOUR WORDS LEAVE ME WITH A DEEP HEARTFELT AWE OF THE NEW WORLD YOUR NOW FACED WITH. BLESS YOU AND ALL THOSE WHO HAVE FOUND A NEW WAY TO LIVE AND LOVE AND SHOW THE REST OF THE WORLD THE TRUE MEANING OF BOTH WORDS, MY BEST, CJL


Leave a Reply

