Surviving

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a cloudy day. A glimpse into a blind billy goat's unique, ever changing perspectives.

2012 11 08 Bobsleds and Huskies November 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — DP Lyons @ 7:48 am

Oh what with my wandering eyes might appear? Why, if it ain’t a bunch of snow, and no frigging reindeer!

 

Yes, you guessed it. It snowed here this morning. I heard something outside around four o’clock. I thought it was a low flying military jet or something. It was the town snow plow, pounding down our road. What a non heavenly sound. My wife got up, out of bed and made a couple of strange noises. I think she growled as soon as she opened the curtains and saw the white stuff out in the back yard. It didn’t go over well for her. Deena the Dainty didn’t seem to mind, as she hopped and pranced all the way to the dog pen, burying her nose down into the white sticky stuff, like a wood chuck furrowing through a pile of leaves for a lone apple, left over from the fall drop. She sure seems to love the snow. I guess that’s the husky in her. come to think of it, Coco the spring loaded idiot, slash, Shetland pony didn’t seem to mind it much either. I could see a dull glimpse of her black body against the white stuff, and it looked like she was on her back, making snow doggies in the white blanket. She’s part husky too, so it’s no wonder.

 

I don’t think I am remotely ready for winter, seeing as I had shorts on two weeks ago. As a matter of fact, I put a pair on last week after Sandy went through. It was warm and almost muggy one morning, so I slipped them on and actually wore them up until last Thursday. A day after Halloween. Go figure.

 

Well, I just realized another thing. We don’t even have our snow tires on the car yet. I hope the weather man is right when he says we should see temps up in the fifties in a couple days. Maybe I shouldn’t put those shorts too far away just yet? Dreamer. Nothing but a dreamer.

 

Supertramp.

 

I helped my wife put some garlic into the ground two days ago. Just in time me thinks. It was really cold that day too. I dumped the soil out of the tomato buckets onto the plot for the garlic and man was the dirt cold. Why does summer seem to go by so fast, and winter seem to hang on for dear life? I have a suggestion if someone would care to tell me where the suggestion box is located, and thank you very much.

 

I always loved the cold, the ice, the snow when I was a kid. I was out in it from sun up until sun down, and it didn’t seem to bother me. The colder it was, the more it snowed, the longer it lasted, I loved it all. I loved it because there was so much to do in it when we were kids. I can’t imagine trying to keep up with my kid self now a days. It would kill me. I would probably make it until around nine thirty, then, hello nappy time! And don’t think that I would be able to get back out there after. Not me. No sirree. Once I’m down, I’m down. The old joints start stiffening up, and the Aleve doesn’t even touch it.

 

I remember a four or five year spell when Matt was a little kid. I used to make a bob sled run out in the back yard. It would take me most of the day to build the starting hill, then I would work my way down through the yard, building up the sides of the path, with a couple corners thrown in for extra added excitement. He had one of those roll up plastic sheets that he would slide down the path on, with a little push from yours truly. It was actually only around 100 feet long, but it was probably the most fun I have ever had out in the snow, as a child, or an adult. Just watching and listening to him scream as he slid down the path, that was the best thing in the world. I even tried it once, ok, a few times, but I was just too big for the corners, as I would roll out over the built up edges and ruin them, fairly quickly too. What a nummah I was. lol

 

Anyways, it was a barrel of monkey fun, and we played out there for hours. A wonderful time that I will never forget.

 

I remember also when we had our first dog, Barkley the, you guessed it, husky. We would go out back on the snowmobile paths and let him pull matt on his sled. That dog loved to pull. He was such a good boy, and I can still see him out at the edge of the lawn where the corn field starts, turning around, looking at me, with a mouth full of turkey poop. He sure did love his turkey poop. I, myself, found it a little grainy, with an aftertaste of gravel that would usually end up ruining the paletted aromatic flavoring that one would coincide with marinated mushroom sauce. A quaffed display of turkey fowl le’orange, with a hint of sautéed boysenberries.

 

My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

 

Ok, where was I?

 

Ah yes. Barkley. He was a good boy.

 

Time goes by, and time rolls on, as timely as time can be. So many good times, running around up in my head. I love it when I pluck a hidden gem from time to time. I also love it when these little gems take me back to the time when they were created. There are certain ones that put me back in the exact spot, with the same exact feelings as on the day when they happened. I love those the best. Usually, every morning, I lie in bed for a half hour or so before I get up. I lie and think. I think and I go back to the memories. I go back to the memories and I am hit with a rush of emotions that grab hold of me and pull me back with them. It’s good to have those memories. It’s really, really good.

 

I’m not sure what my memories from these past two years will provide me with in the future. They don’t have the visual additives that my past ones have. They do though have a unique perspective that’s been added to them. My imagination fuels such a big part of my memories now. I have to manufacture images of what is happening. It isn’t hard to achieve this, as I do it without thinking. It just occurs. I have memories of the CarrollCenter, and other things that have happened these past months. They are logged in there, and although they are different, they are just as much a part of me as anything that has ever happened to me.

 

I just wonder what they will look like in the future. I wonder how they will play out in my mind compared to those of my visual past.

 

Maybe it will be a really stark difference, like going from the silent movies age, to the development of the talkies?

 

Maybe I don’t know what the heck I am talking about, and maybe I’ll just have to wait and see.

 

4 Responses to “2012 11 08 Bobsleds and Huskies”

  1. Hi Deon, it’s snowing here now. It started earlier this afternoon. We’re supposed to get one to three inches tonight and possibly another three inches tomorrow before it tapers off. I didn’t do much sledding as a kid, but the hill where my brother sledded is behind my house, and I occasionally hear the cries of those enjoying this pastime.

    • dplion Says:

      Hi Abbie. Isn’t it too early for the white stuff? It feels too early to me. Seems like summer isn’t even over yet. I hope you get the chance to get out and enjoy the snow some time soon. There’s nothing like careening down a hill, screaming bloody murder all the way. It’s an adrenalin rush that lasts through the ages. Deon

      Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.

      Vivian Green

      • Yeah, and there’s nothing like having your feet slide out from under you and landing flat on your back in the snow, and your brother pointing a camera at you and saying, “Smile.”

      • dplion Says:

        Revenge has a way of making the heart grow fonder. Smile. I had two older sisters. I know. And a younger brother, and an older brother. I often heard, “I didn’t do it! He did it!”

        Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain.

        Vivian Green


Leave a Reply

